AIA Indiana Presents Awards

Sept. 28, 2010

DePauw University's Janet Prindle Institute for Ethics, the first Gold LEED project in Indiana.
DePauw University's Janet Prindle Institute for Ethics, the first Gold LEED project in Indiana. (Photo by Susan Fleck) Indianapolis – Green design continues to gain momentum in Indiana, a trend that was apparent at the 2008 American Institute of Architects (AIA) Indiana Design Awards.

Of the four award winners, three went to green buildings, all on Indiana college campuses: DePauw's Janet Prindle Institute for Ethics, the first Gold LEED project in the state, designed by CSO Architects; The Purdue University Neil Armstrong Hall of Engineering, designed by Ratio Architects; and the Straw Bale Eco Center at Ball State University, designed by architecture students. J.W. McQuiston Architecture + Interior Design was honored for its renovation of a 1917 house in Danville.

The annual AIA Design Awards is a way to recognize the top architectural designs in the state of Indiana. Thirty-nine projects were submitted. This year, judges – a panel of architects from Colorado – gave the nod to designs that included green design and energy efficiency.

AIA Indiana also presented awards to individuals who have made significant contributions to the architecture profession and to the built environment. The Juliet Peddle Award was presented to Dean Illingworth, FAIA, executive director of Habitat for Humanity. Illingworth, a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, received the award for his leadership of the local, nonprofit organization.

The Walter S. Blackburn Award was presented to Tamara Zahn, president of Indianapolis Downtown Inc., who has been an advocate for good design through major redevelopment and building projects in downtown Indianapolis; the Edward D. Pierre Award was presented to Don Altemeyer, AIA, executive director and a founding principal of BSA LifeStructures, for his civic and career achievements, including leading the Indianapolis Midfield Terminal project; and the President's Award went to Ewing H. Miller II, FAIA, formerly of Terre Haute, for the contribution and impact he and his family have had on the quality of architecture in Indiana.

Distinguished Service Awards were presented to Wayne Schmidt, FAIA, for his service and actions regarding various state legislative issues on behalf of the architecture profession; Tim Wall, AIA, for his efforts on behalf of the architecture profession in his capacity as 2008 AIA Indiana president; and State Sen. Brandt Hershman (R-Monticello) for his leadership on architecture-related legislative issues.