AHTD Funding for Safe Routes to Schools Program

September 28, 2010

The Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department (AHTD) has announced the award of funding to applicants for “Safe Routes to School Program” projects. The program is a 100-percent federally funded initiative of the 2005 Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users (SAFETEA-LU).

“This program is specifically directed toward enabling and encouraging students in Kindergarten through 8th grade to walk or bicycle to school,” said Flowers. “The Highway Commission was able to award $1.35 million in funds toward 13 very deserving projects.”

Areas within two miles of a K-8th grade school are eligible for funds to be disbursed in educational programs and infrastructure improvements such as construction of sidewalks, crossings and bicycle facilities, as well as traffic diversion and speed reduction improvements.

The following cities and school districts were selected for funding: Hamburg, Jonesboro, Lavaca, Arkansas Children’s Hospital Research Institute, Russellville, Benton, North Little Rock, Jacksonville, Magnolia, Corning, Vilonia School District, London Economic Development Corporation, and Atkins Public Schools.