billboard - default
interstitial1 - interstitial
interstitial2 - interstitial

AEM President Retires, Replacement Announced


Dennis Slater and Megan Tanel.
Dennis Slater, left, and Megan Tanel.

Dennis Slater will retire as president of the Association of Equipment Manufacturers (AEM) on December 31, 2021. Megan Tanel, currently SVP of Construction & Utility Sector will succeed Slater and serve as president effective January 1, 2022.

Slater joined AEM’s predecessor—the Construction Industry Manufacturers Association (CIMA)—in 1982, became president in 1998, and then president of the newly formed AEM in 2002, after a merger between CIMA and Equipment Manufacturers Institute (EMI). Under his leadership, the association has grown by 50 percent to more than 1,000 member companies, with revenue increasing nearly 700 percent to $60 million annually.

“Through Dennis’ leadership and impressive contributions to the industry for nearly 40 years, AEM has built tremendous value and momentum for our members and the industry,” said 2021 AEM Chair and Trimble Executive Chairman Steve W. Berglund, in a prepared statement. “He has been an outstanding leader of the equipment manufacturing industry and, on behalf of the AEM Board Directors, I thank him for his steadfast leadership and vision in support of the association’s 1,000 member companies.”

Tanel joined AEM in 1995 as an intern, becoming a full-time employee later that year. She moved up in leadership to her most recent position. For many years Tanel led AEM’s exhibitions and events initiatives and helped launch World of Asphalt in 2001, served as Show Director for The Utility Expo (formerly ICUEE), and CONEXPO-CON/AGG. Through her leadership, she and the team she developed grew AEM trade show revenue by 80 percent over 12 years, worked internationally to establish strategic relationships with global partners in support of AEM services, and led the effort to extend key contracts for AEM shows, most notably CONEXPO-CON/AGG.

“I congratulate Megan on her new position and expanded role at AEM and, on behalf of the Board of Directors, we are confident she will continue to lead the association and support the industry for many years to come,” said Berglund in a statement.

Said Slater in a statement:

“Megan has successfully led key initiatives and been a major driver in building relationships across our industry throughout her 20+ year tenure at AEM. With the support of the AEM Senior Team and our membership, I’m confident she will provide the leadership needed to continue AEM’s success in the future.”

Tanel said in a statement:

“I am honored to have the confidence of the AEM Board and I’m thankful for Dennis and what he has done for our association and the industry. Our association is healthy financially, our industry is relevant and critical to our global economy, and we have the strong support of our members. Now is the time to continue to build on our momentum, and with our strong team in place, I know we will do just that.”

Source: AEM

leaderboard2 -