Team Awarded By Asphalt Emulsion Manufacturers Association

Staff | September 28, 2010

On behalf of the Asphalt Emulsion Manufacturers Association, Myles McKemie recently honored the construction team that performed the widening and full depth restoration of FM 3240 in Bandera County with the Past President Award for Emulsion Excellence.

The 8-mile-long stretch of road was recycled in place to 6-inch depth and injected with 5-percent emulsion while reclaiming. It was compacted, graded and returned to traffic the same day. The design also had to be capable of withstanding seal coat within a few days. This innovative process proved that reclaiming while injecting emulsion for base stabilization is efficient, economical and easy to manage.

The project was designed by the TxDOT San Antonio District staff that included Michael Coward, Eric Hall, Lloyd Thompson, and Chris Douglas. Ray Faris, Inc. was the general contractor for the project. Ray Faris, Ingrid Faris and Warren Faris were present to accept the award. Asphalt supplier, Ergon Asphalt Emulsion, was represented by John Houston, who helped present the awards, and Pat Garrett. Field Testing was performed by PaveTex, represented by Mogshoud Tomarasi. Don Shogren of Sem Material provided technical support.