Lee County Wins Fleet Masters

September 28, 2010

Bill Prussman, CEM, and Marilyn Rawlings, CEM, accept the 2010 FleetMasters Award.

Lee County Fleet Management, led by Marilyn Rawlings, CEM, took home the 2010 Fleet Masters Award, presented March 15 at AEMP's Annual Management Conference in Dallas.

A team of 32 full-time employees is responsible for the cradle-to-grave management of 734 off-road units and 1,305 licensed units. Three of the five members of Lee County's leadership team hold Certified Equip-ment Manager certification from AEMP.

Networking with other organizations has enabled Lee County to implement valuable equipment maintenance and management practices. Fleet leaders not only attend various conferences, but they have also been asked to speak at many of them. Fleet supervisors are encouraged to visit other governmental facilities, review procedures, and generate new procedures for Fleet Management.

Benchmarks provide Lee County with valuable information to compare public service against private business.

The Fleet Masters awards are sponsored by the AEMP Strategic Alliance Partners: Castrol, Caterpillar, Construction Equipment, International, IronPlanet, John Deere, Komatsu, Trimble and Volvo Construction Equipment.