APAI Hosts 50th Annual Convention

By Curt Grandia | September 28, 2010

About 300 contractors, suppliers and guests attended the Asphalt Paving Association of Iowa's (APAI) 50th Annual Convention held Nov. 29–30 at the West Des Moines Marriott. With its theme of "Embracing the Green," many of the general sessions focused on the environmentally beneficial aspects of hot mix asphalt.

Among the convention highlights, three men were inducted into the Iowa Hot Mix Asphalt Hall of Fame and the association presented its 2006 Awards for Quality.

Hall of Fame inductees honored for making significant and lasting contributions to the Iowa asphalt industry included Clemens J. Smith (deceased), Don Schoeberlein (deceased) and Ronald W. Dunmire.

Winners of Quality Management Asphalt (QMA) Awards included:

Primary Resurfacing

Mathy Construction Company, Onalaska, Wis.

Iowa 9 in Howard County

Primary Paving

Brower Construction Company, Sioux City

Iowa Highway 60 in Osceola County

Interstate Resurfacing

Brower Construction Company

Interstate 29 in Woodbury County

Interstate Paving

Des Moines Asphalt & Paving Company, Des Moines

Interstate 235 in Polk County

Smoothness Award winners were:

Airport Runway Resurfacing

Heartland Asphalt, Inc., Mason City

Mason City Municipal Airport

Municipal Street Resurfacing

Heartland Asphalt, Inc.

City of Clear Lake Street Improvement

Municipal Street Paving

Des Moines Asphalt & Paving Company

City of Perry paving project

Secondary Resurfacing

Tri-State Paving, Inc., Estherville

O'Brien County road project

Secondary Paving

Mathy Construction Company, Onalaska, Wis.

Mitchell County road project

Special Applications Award winners were:

Parking Lot/Commercial Paving

Des Moines Asphalt & Paving Company

Wal-Mart parking lot, West Des Moines

Parking Lot/Industrial Parking

Manatts, Inc., Brooklyn

Lincoln Way Energy Ethanol Plant, Nevada, Iowa

Trails and Paths Paving

Grimes Asphalt & Paving Corp., Grimes

Bill Riley Trail, Des Moines

Special Paving Application

Des Moines Asphalt & Paving Company

Prairie Ridge Sports, Ankeny

Unique Paving Application

Grimes Asphalt & Paving Corp.

Cownie Soccer Stadium Plaza Improvements, Des Moines

Athletic Use Paving

Fort Dodge Asphalt Company

Southeast Webster-Grand School Asphalt Running Track, Burnside

Environmental Award winners were L.L. Pelling Company, of North Liberty (stationary plant), and Tri-State Paving, Inc., of Estherville (portable plant).

Community Involvement Awards were presented to Cessford Construction Company, LeGrand, and L.L. Pelling Company, Inc.

A Special Award of Recognition was presented to Manatt's, Inc. for its paving work on the track at the new Iowa Speedway in Newton.

2006 Scholarship Recipients included: Ronald D. Kenyon Scholarship ($1,500) — Matthew Ludwig, Vail, Iowa;Fred Carlson Company Scholarship ($1,100) — David Green, Bettendorf, and Adam Miller, Greene; Robert and SheriHorner Scholarship ($1,100) — Kevin McLaughlin, Henderson, Nev., and Jessica Stroda, Ottumwa.