AEMP Names Two Technicians of the Year

Staff | September 28, 2010

The Association of Equipment Management Professionals (AEMP) and the AEMP Foundation named Craig Donor and Brian Ganson the 2008 Technicians of the Year last month during AEMP's annual conference in Las Vegas.

Donor, named public fleet winner, works for the Virginia Department of Transportation. He was part of a committee that developed and introduced laptop diagnostic equipment to VDOT repair shops statewide, and was part of the pilot FleetCross website, for which he is now an instructor and administrator. He also came up with a modification to field-service trucks that free the bed of the truck for supplies and spare parts, a change being implemented statewide.

Ganson is the private fleet winner, and he works for George J. Igel & Co. In his 14 years in the profession, Ganson has become a highly respected member of a team of 20, even as the youngest of his company's field mechanics. He is on the firm's safety committee, and he coordinated the purchase and in-stallation of a GPS fleet monitoring system, suggesting system modifications to the vendor that were incorporated and introduced at Conexpo-Con/Agg 2008.

Each winner received a $1,000 scholarship from the Foundation and a large tool box provided by John Deere. Qualcomm sponsored the awards event.

The AEMP Foundation funds technician scholarships for the children of AEMP members and their employees attending accredited two-year technical education programs in pursuit of careers as equipment technicians. Scholarship funds cover tuition and books for recipients. The AEMP Technician of the Year Award is sponsored by John Deere and the AEMP Foundation. The awards luncheon was sponsored by Qualcomm.

The AEMP Technician of the Year Award, established in 1989, is sponsored annually by the AEMP Foundation to spotlight the increasingly complex skill sets required of today's professional technician and to raise awareness of the critical shortage of technicians that now exists. Award winners are selected based on professionalism, technical skills, innovative troubleshooting and diagnostics, and for exemplary contributions to the equipment-technician profession.