AEMP 2016 Award Winners

March 25, 2016

AEMP has announced the 2016 winners of the 2016 Technician of the Year (public sector and private), and the AEMP Associate of the Year.

The Technician of the Year initiative is the AEMP Education Foundation’s way of recognizing heavy equipment technicians that are models of excellence within the profession.

“Technicians don’t often receive the recognition they deserve for being such key players in making our industry successful,” says AEMP Education Foundation Manager, Rachel Connor “In celebrating the industry’s best, we want the award to elevate the stature of the career and to bring awareness to the critical issue of the technician shortage.”

AEMP's Private Sector Fleet Technician Of The Year winner is Christopher Flood, Glenn O. Hawbaker Incorporated, State College, Pennsylvania.

“The heavy equipment field has a shortage of qualified technicians. It is also a field that is very rewarding, with new challenges every day. It is our responsibility as top technicians to step up and teach the younger generation what it takes", Flood said. "With the AEMP Education Foundation’s help, we can continue to educate and cultivate young minds. With hard work, dedication, and more hard work, this award is achievable for anyone!”

AEMP said Flood is a top level technician that others in the company look up to and is always doing whatever it takes to get the job DONE and done right. Mr. Flood is also the only Technician of the Year honoree that is also trained to handle rattle snakes.

Flood's team said, “Christopher is one of the safest technicians I know and has been a great mentor to others. He is one of the rare, adaptable technicians, because he has grown with the industry.”

AEMP's Public Sector Fleet Technician of The Year Winner is Michael Naletko, Sarasota County Fleet Services, Florida

“For me, the heroes in the field are the older generation of technicians that have helped me throughout my career. I hope I can do the same in years to come for other young technicians getting started. I feel that winning this award isn’t just a win for me, but a win for my profession and I couldn’t be more proud to now be a member of an organization that spotlights and celebrates our career field,” Naletko said.

Naletko is the “go- to” technician who was trained by the US Air Force as a Special Purpose Vehicle and Equipment Mechanic. Naletko demonstrates his belief in safety by being accident free for his entire five years with Sarasota County.

Naletko's team said, “He is willing to accept any challenge, see it through to the end and provides a superior product or repair that is fully operational, reliable, safe and fully mission capable. Mike has taken numerous steps to improve or enhance the image of the technician professional and he never hesitates to work with a new hire and helps to train and mentor less experienced technician in improving their abilities.”

For the past 26 years, the AEMP Education Foundation has partnered with John Deere to honor the heavy equipment industry’s outstanding Technician of the Year in h public and private fleets. Each distinguished recipient was presented with the grand prize of a large custom-built John Deere rolling toolbox, embroidered jacket, $500 continuing education scholarship, and plaque. “These individuals deserve our appreciation for their service to our industry” says Roger Mohr, Director of Corporate Business Division at John Deere Construction and Forestry. “They keep our machines and our customers going and are deserving of special recognition.”

AEMP's 2016 Associate of the Year is the Donaldson Filtration Company in Bloomington, Minnesota.

AEMP recognized the Donaldson Company for the significant contributions to the advancement of fleet management and long standing reputation for support all three sides of the AEMP Equipment Triangle.

Donaldson Company was founded in 1915 and is based in Bloomington, Minnesota. The company  is a global leader in the filtration industry with approximately 140 sales, manufacturing and distribution locations in 44 countries.

Source: AEMP