AEM Elects New President

September 28, 2010

The Board of Directors of the Association of Equipment Manufacturers (AEM) has elected Dennis J. Slater (photo) as president of the Association, effective Jan. 1, 2003. Slater will be the chief staff executive to oversee daily operations of the international trade group.

According to AEM, Slater brings extensive trade-industry experience to the position and as 2002 co-president, along with co-president Emmett Barker, demonstrated outstanding leadership in finalizing the consolidation of the Construction Industry Manufacturers Association (CIMA) and the Equipment Manufacturers Institute (EMI) into one association--AEM.

In other news, AEM has elected 2003 officers and directors. David Woods, CEO of Charles Machine Works, Perry, Okla., has been named chairman of the association. Other elected officers include: First Vice Chairman Ronald DeFeo, chairman/CEO of Terex, Second Vice Chairman Charles Stamp, Deere's vice president of public affairs worldwide, Treasurer Emil Kucera, president of MinnPar, and Secretary Dennis Slater, AEM's full-time president.