2008 Missouri/Kansas ACPA Award Winners

Staff | September 28, 2010

The Missouri/Kansas Chapter of the ACPA honored exceptional concrete pavement professionals at the 28th Annual Portland Cement Concrete Pavement Conference & Annual Back to Basics Seminar on February 26 – 28, 2008, in Kansas City, Missouri. The awards program encourages high-quality workmanship in every concrete pavement project and serves as a forum for sharing information about highly successful projects.

The awards program recognizes contractors, engineers and project owners who completed outstanding projects in 2007. The following is a partial first list of the 2008 award winners.

Reliever & General Aviation Airport, Kan.

Runway 17-35 Reconstruction, Herington Regional Airport

Mike Rottinghaus, FAA; Bob Johnson, Pavers, Inc.; Merlin Oswald, airport manager; Ron Strickland, city manager; & Ron Pearce, Bucher, Willis & Ratliff Corporation.

Smoothest Days Paving Kansas

Runway 17-35 Reconstruction, Herington Regional Airport

From left: Mike Rottinghaus, FAA; Merlin Oswald, airport manager; Ron Strickland, city manager; Bob Johnson, Pavers, Inc.; & Ron Pearce, Bucher, Willis & Ratliff Corporation.

Concrete Overlays Missouri

Spartech Drive and Jaycee Drive resurfacing and widening in Arena Park, city of Cape Girardeau.

John Hedrick, city of Cape Girardeau.

Concrete Pavement Restoration, Missouri

Southwest Trafficway Restoration in Kansas City, Mo.

Kerry Kanatzar, city of Kansas City; Peter Ulrich, Realm Construction; and Marlene Dunn, Diamond Surface, Inc.

Divided Highways (rural), Missouri

Route 60 Reconstruction, Carter County

Nathan Reed, MoDOT; Jeff Bross, Chester Bross Construction; and Bob Lowery, Chester Bross Construction.

Divided Highways (urban) Missouri

Three Trails Crossing Memorial Highway, "Grandview Triangle," Jackson County

Kevin Bremer, Clarkson Construction Company; Albert Janssens and Susan Nelson of the Missouri Department of Transportation; and Dale McGregor, HNTB Corporation.Reliever &

General Aviation Airports, Missouri

Construction of Taxiway A Connectors, Jefferson City Memorial Airport

David Burle, Missouri Department of Transportation, Multi-modal Operations - Aviation Section; Dave Hadel, Burns & McDonnell; and Pete Grathwohl, Emery Sapp & Sons, Inc.

Lifetime Achievement Award 2008:

Mo. ACPA Executive Director Matthew Ross presented to Ken Liescheidt, who spent 30 years with MoDOT before retiring and is now the Eastern Missouri Field Engineer for the Mo./Kan. ACPA.