2008 Fleet Masters Awards Winners

By Staff | September 28, 2010
William Burgett of Kokosing Construction accepts the 2008 national Fleet Masters Award for private fleets from Rod Sutton, of Construction Equipment
Erle Potter, CEM, (r) of Virginia Department of Transportation accepts the 2008 national Fleet Masters Award for public fleets from President Ron Hutchinson, CEM.

The 2008 Fleet Masters winners were honored at a luncheon during the 26th Annual Management Conference & Annual Meeting in Las Vegas in March. Kokosing Construction of Fredericktown, Ohio, won the Fleet Masters Award for private fleets, and the Virginia Department of Transportation won for public fleets. William Burgett accepted the award for Kokosing and Erle Potter, CEM, accepted for VDOT. VDOT also won a Fleet Masters Award in 2004.

Finalists for the Fifth Annual Fleet Masters Awards also included Mike Bates, CEM, of Cajun Constructors in Baton Rouge, La., in the private fleet category. Public fleet finalists included Pete Scarafiotti, CEM, the City of Mesa, Ariz., and Mike Brennan, CEM, Manatee County, Fla.

Fleet Masters are recognized for their practices in the areas of human relations, vendor relations, asset management, maintenance management and technology. AEMP annually recognizes industry leaders for their outstanding contributions to the art and science of fleet asset management.

The Fleet Masters Award was created with Construction Equipment to honor equipment management professionals who excel in meeting the unique challenges inherent in delivering cost-effective management of mixed fleets of on-road and off-road equipment. Nominations are solicited from the entire industry, and nominees and nominators do not have to be members of AEMP to participate. There is no obligation for entering and no entry fee.

The Awards are sponsored by John Deere, Castrol, Caterpillar, Construction Equipmen, Komatsu, Manitowoc, QUALCOMM and Volvo Construction Equipment.